Psalm 23 for Today

psa23today.jpgPsalm 23 (For the Work Place)

The Lord is my real boss, and I shall not want.
He gives me peace, when chaos is all around me.
He gently reminds me to pray and do all things without
murmuring and complaining.

He reminds me that He is my source and not my job.
He restores my sanity everyday and guides my decisions
that I might honor Him in all that I do.

Even though I face absurd amounts of e-mails, system
crashes, unrealistic deadlines, budget cutbacks, gossiping
co-workers, discriminating supervisors and an aging body
that doesn’t cooperate every morning, I still will not stop—
for He is with me! His presence, His peace, and His power
will see me through.

He raises me up, even when they fail to promote me.
He claims me as His own, even when the company threatens
to let me go. His Faithfulness and love is better than any bonus check

His retirement plan beats any 401k there is!
When it’s all said and done, I’ll be working for Him
a whole lot longer and for that, I bless His name!

For those of my students who asked for this modern, humorous adaptation of Psalm 23, here it is

The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not flunk; He keeps me from lying down when I should be studying. He leads me besides the coffee pot for a break; He restores my faith in commentaries and leads me to better missionary methods, for my grade sake

Yes, tho’ I walk through the valley of borderline marks, I will not have a nervous breakdown; For Thou art with me; My prayers and my friends they comfort me. You give me the answers in moments of blankness; You anointest my head with understanding, My exam papers runneth over with questions I recognize.

Surely passing grades and flying colors shall follow me all the days of my examinations; And I shall not have to dwell in this college forever!

 

Well, here’s my wife Dorothy’s IT version of the same Psalm…

The Lord is my programmer, I shall not crash. He installed His software on the hard disk of my heart, All of His commands are user friendly, His directory moves me to the right choices for His name’s sake.

Even though I scroll through the problems of life, I will fear no bugs, for You are my backup; Your password protects me; You prepare a menu before me in the presence of my enemies; You help is only a key away.

Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life, And my file will be merged with His and saved forever!

Leave a Reply

